NAS Storage: Hammer Just Arrived!!

HammerStorage

The “Hammer” N1200 just arrived in the mail today! Immediately, I connected this to the network and received an IP via DHCP. The default username/password is admin/admin, which was immediately changed. The interface is simple and easy to use; it is light, small is size and has a host of features, some of which include:

  • Sending Alerts via SMTP
  • Printer Management
  • Accessiable via NFS, SMB/CIFS, FTP and HTTP
  • Workgroup or Domain membership

There are two 500GB Maxor drives. The Disk Management output shows the following:

Disk Size Description Status  
HDD 1 465.76 GB Maxtor 7H500F0 Good  
HDD 2 465.76 GB Maxtor 7H500F0 Good

The two drives can be configured using the

Volume Management tool, allowing the disks to be striped, mirrored or spanned. I choose to mirror the disks, which takes approximately 3hrs to complete. Initially, the time remaining to complete the mirror when the system was first powered on was ~300mins (5hrs), but the time dropped a significant bit after 10 minutes. The process of Resyncing the disks takes extremely long.

Volume management

After “Resyncing” completes, the drives will be be formatted. Formatting takes another 15-30 minutes to complete.

Hammer Formatting

Once formatting completed I created a /Backup volume, which can be set to be accessed through either SMB, FTP or NFS.

By default, NFS is not enabled. After enabling NFS, I had an inclination to scan the box.

Open Ports on the Hammer:

Starting Nmap 4.20 ( http://insecure.org ) at 2007-04-24 13:22 EDT
Interesting ports on hammer (XxX.xX.xXx.Xx):
Not shown: 1690 closed ports
PORT STATE SERVICE
21/tcp open ftp
111/tcp open rpcbind
139/tcp open netbios-ssn
443/tcp open https
445/tcp open microsoft-ds
631/tcp open ipp
958/tcp open unknown

Nmap finished: 1 IP address (1 host up) scanned in 0.184 seconds

What type of Linux OS is on the “Hammer”?

Looking at the system logs on the web interface shows:

04/24 08:58:13 N1200 daemon.info wixEvent[494]: Network Link – NIC 1 link is up 1000 Mbps full duplex.
04/24 08:58:10 N1200 syslog.info syslogd started: BusyBox v1.1.1
04/03 08:16:25 N1200 syslog.info System log daemon exiting.

What version of FTP is on the “Hammer”?

A quick telnet on port 21 reviewed the following:

Connected to hammer.
Escape character is ‘^]’.
220 vsFTPd 2.0.4+ (ext.3) ready…

For my needs, the Hammer myshare is more than enough. Unfortunately, I was only able to backup most of the data in one of two drives I had. The other was not even accessible by the time the Hammer was ready to be used. I should have acted sooner, but eh…
What I did not like about the Hammer:

  • Only printers directly connected to the Hammer can be shared. There was no option to add a network printer.
  • Configuration Management allows backing up the configuration of the Hammer to a file, but not a TFTP server or even FTP.
  • The device can not be accessed with via SSH

What I wish the Hammer had:

  • SSH/Shell Access
  • Ability for drives to be monitored via Nagios or Smartd
This entry was posted in General-Tech. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to NAS Storage: Hammer Just Arrived!!

  1. j says:

    How loud is it?

    and, any idea on the power consumption?

  2. swinful says:

    I have no idea how much power this thing consumes:) But, how loud? That would be relative to the environment. But, with much disk activity the noise is noticeable and it gets warm! I would say it is about as loud as the spinning fan in my ThinkPad T43P 2668H2U when it gets hot! Then again the NAS is not in the area where I usually work, so I can not hear it:)

    Hope that helps.

  3. JMM says:

    I too just received mine today, but I’m not impressed about something.

    I already run a web server & FTP server in my home, and they use the standard ports of 80 & 21.

    So I was trying to find a way to set my Hammer to use different ports for Web & FTP access, but I can’t seem to fin any way.

    It’s too bad, but it looks like this unit will be going back to where I purchased it. Unfortunately, nothing about this limitation could be found on their website.

  4. swinful says:

    Hey JMM,

    I don’t blame you. I would have sent mine back, but the original boxes were thrown out by my parents. The hammer does not allow you to customize much, but I can make due with what I have. In the future I’ll get something much more customizable like a 1u-Rackmount with 4-drives doing raid5 running FreeBSD!

    Thank you for your input,
    -swinful

  5. JMM says:

    Hey swinful,

    The HAMMER is such a nice little box, that I talked my friend into keeping it for another use. πŸ™‚

    Originally it was going to stay at my place, so that they could FTP their backups up to this HAMMER here every night, and also have Web access to their files at any time. But in light of me not being able to change the ports, they will use this HAMMER at their own location for something else.

    Having said that, seeing how the author of this web page was able to get into the Linux OS of the HAMMER, perhaps there is a way to change the port assignments afterall. πŸ™‚

    The unit that I use for my own purposes is the Infrant NV which I’ve had for about a year, and it’s awesome. A little bit more expensive than the HAMMER (OK … more than a little more expensive ;-), but so much more configurable & expandable. In addition to the regular RAID configurations, it offers something which is an enhanced form of RAID-1 called X-RAID. It allows you to replace 1 drive at a time with larger drives, and it then it reconfigures everything without losing any data.

    But I digress ….. this page is about the HAMMER. True, as mentioned before, I was disappointed about not being able to change the ports that it uses, but for other people for who that is not a problem, this little HAMMER is a wonderful product. Although I’ve only had it for about a day, it is working as advertised with no problems, and as long as it keeps running, I would most definitely recommend it to other people. Heck, now that I know what it can & can not do, I would not hesitate to buy one for myself for my own use, should I need something with it’s capabilities in the future. πŸ™‚

  6. Richard Landaverde says:

    I just received my Nas Hammer, i enabled NFS and setup Full Access to all IP’s, and ran the following:

    mount 192.168.1.2:/DataVolume/public /nas

    and then the nas is mounted and i’m able to move files in to the Nas but the moment i try to move or copy any files out of the Nas it locks up any of the systems that are trying to pull the files.

    I’m using a Linux Distro, I even tried CIFS but had trouble with the data getting corrupted. I also contacted Nas support but they aren’t sure what it could. If this was the wrong place for this please disregard.

    Thanks,
    Richard

  7. Doug Isom says:

    I just got one of these. Did the one button back up which worked. The made lots of edits on the original data (I am a web designer) and wanted to back that up, hasn’t worked since. Tried a different USB cable and even reformatted the USB drive to no avail. I know the drive is still good though as I can access it and move data to and from it. Anyone else?

  8. Pingback: [QNAP] New NAS — TS-569L-US: Just Ordered! | Well-Rounded

Leave a comment