[Swift] expressions require OS X 10.10 / iOS 8 SDKs or later

xcodeThe successor to Objective-C, Swift was announced by Apple in 2014. Instead of waiting I decided to start learning this language in order to add it to my “bag of tricks” as one of my professors would say. Considering I do not always have a laptop with OSX nearby, my work laptop is Windows, I scoured the internet for a way to have a command-line interface to swift. Something similar to tclsh for TCL or irb for Ruby. What I found was this, but it left me a bit hopeless:

`--> sudo xcode-select -switch /Applications/Xcode.app
Password:

``--> lldb --repl

Welcome to Swift!  Type :help for assistance.
println("Hello There!")

error: Swift expressions require OS X 10.10 / iOS 8 SDKs or later.

I guess the above may work in a later version of OS X. But, apparently I need OS X 10.10 or iOS 8 SDKs or later to run swift for the command-line. As of now OS X 10.9 is the latest out and it is what I have, see:

`--> sw_vers 
ProductName:	Mac OS X
ProductVersion:	10.9.5
BuildVersion:	13F34

And, I also have Xcode 6.0.1, see:

`--> xcodebuild -version
Xcode 6.0.1
Build version 6A317

However, it was not until I stumbled upon @swiftLDN twitters page that I learned out how to run swift from the command line. All I needed to do was:

``--> xcrun swift -sdk ios8
<unknown>:0: warning: no such SDK: 'ios8'
Welcome to Swift!  Type :help for assistance.
  1> println("Hello There!")
Hello There!
  2>  

The message about “no such SDK” can be ignored. Apparently, anything can serve as a placeholder after “-sdk”.

Do not get me wrong. Swift works fine in Xcode from the GUI front-end for the current version of OSX and Xcode I have. However, just issuing xcrun swift from the command-line will not cut it just yet.

I hope that help anyone out there.

Cheers!

This entry was posted in General-Tech. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment