Ubuntu: My First Time…

Get Ubuntu

I just installed Ubuntu — Ubuntu-Desktop 6.10, Edgy!! On a test machine that is. First thought, Ubuntu is geat, I am scared I might really like it! Not as bad as I thought it would be. I admit, I was a non-believer until I tried it myself. At first, I just thought I would find myself fumbling with rpm’s and such, but was I in for a suprise. It should also be noted that my last Linux distro was Slackware back in 2001, since then I have been a FreeBSD fan. Anyway, the Unbuntu install CD also doubles as a LiveCD, so I was also able to play around with it before I decided to install. At first glance, after the LiveCD booted it looked just like any other linux distro, until I decided to click the “install” icon and really give it a go!

The first thing that caught my eye was the simple fact of installing the OS, while at the same time browsing the Internet, launching OpenOffice and even chatting on Gaim. Now, that was impressive. I know for sure, that will not work in FreeBSD. But, then again FreeBSD is not really for the desktop. Before I knew it the installation completed and it was time to reboot. A few minutes later I had Ubuntu-Desktop on my system and I was right where I started. Installing applications was also a breeze with apt-get! My first application to install, GnuCash! I remember having to compile this on FreeBSD, let alone building world making a new kernel then install Xorg! This was fun when I had plenty of free time back in my college days, but these days

I-just-do-not-have-the-time-nor-patients-to-spend-hours-compiling-just-to-get-an-
application-or-two-to-FREAKING-INSTALL!

I am almost tempted to start using Ubuntu as a Desktop OS and just keep FreeBSD on the server end of things.

This entry was posted in *Nix. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ubuntu: My First Time…

  1. Dave Grochowski says:

    Way to be a traitor. . . =P

    Ubuntu is nice, but BSD is still where it’s at for me.

  2. swinful says:

    Don’t get me wrong. I’m no traitor and I love FreeBSD, which should not even be compared to Linux. But for the desktop Ubuntu deserves mention. Using Ubuntu is near effortless for the user who just wants to use Linux and have everything work, without fumbling with RPM’s. For me FreeBSD does the job well.

    Regards,
    -swinful

  3. Daemon says:

    About the Lib Story:

    Under FreeBSD you can use the libmap.conf 😉
    Better to now about that.

    Ubuntu is for little Girls. 😛

Leave a comment