[iPhone] Upgrade to iPhone4 from iPhone 3G

Today I decided to upgrade to the new iPhone 4 and apply the iOS 4.2.1 update recently released. The idea was to wait until the summer 2011 to take advantage of the new model that would hopefully be released, but why bother? Well, a colleague a work presented an offer I could not resist. He was willing to purchase my iPhone 3G for a good amount, so eh I could not refuse. Of course he wanted to purchase the older phone so he could unlock it and use overseas so we are both happen. He got a “new” phone and I got a “new” phone.

The performance on the iPhone 4 is comparable to the performance of iOS 3.x on the iPhone 3G. And I think it may be a little faster, judging from the feel interacting with the phone. One thing to note about the upgrade to iOS 4.2.1. It went well until the last minute after applying the update. After the final reboot the phone got stuck in the “Recovery Mode”! It may have just been my luck, but I fired up “TinyUmbrella”, click “Exit Recovery” and I had my fully functional iPhone 4.2.1 ready to usage! Actually, I don’t think I may be the only one to experience this, because as soon as I fired up “Safari” on my Mac I was taken to the page: http://support.apple.com/kb/TS1275 stating:

Symptoms
When you are trying to update or restore your iPhone, iPad, iPod touch or Apple TV (2nd generation) with iTunes, the update or restore process may stop, and you may see an alert message in iTunes. You may also see the “Connect to iTunes” screen on your device:

The alert message in iTunes may also include one of the following numbers (but is not limited to): 2, 4, 5, 6, 9, 13, 14, -18, 19, 20, 21, 23, 28, 29, -48, -50, 1002, 1011, 1013, 1014, 1015, 1601, 1602, 1603, 1604, 1608, 1609, 1611, 1612, 1639, 2009, 3004, 3013, 3014, 3015, 9807, -9808, 9844, 4026xxxxx.

There was no clear resolution to take the iPhone 4 out of recovery mode, but “TinyUmbrella (v4.1.13)” got the device out of “Recovery Mode”.

This entry was posted in General-Tech. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to [iPhone] Upgrade to iPhone4 from iPhone 3G

  1. iPhone says:

    finally i found the right post…thanx man

Leave a Reply

