Vim Tip: The Special ‘star’

I accidentally stumbled across this short-cut while mimicking around in vim. I usually do “/word” to search for a word about a thousand times while editing a file. Accidentally, while commenting I typed ‘r’ to replace a single character but apparently I must have typed ‘R’ instead. Thinking I was in insert mode I quickly issued the ā€˜*ā€™ character, except nothing was inserted. This struck me as odd because I just saw highlighted words. I figured:

Shift+8 // The ‘star’.

did the trick. Just thought I’d share. šŸ™‚

This entry was posted in General-Tech. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Vim Tip: The Special ‘star’

  1. arwuah says:

    nvi may be better than vim, but I’ll be the judge of that when I try it out. For now, vim > vi

  2. Malus says:

    I agree, vim is an improvement over Solaris’s default vi.

Leave a Reply

